Old Wooden Chapel. Kizhi Island. Explore Russia
Kizhi, ancient lands of Karelia
The museum-reserve of wooden architecture and ethnography of Karelia "Kizhi" is located on the eponymous island and adjacent islands in the northwestern part of Lake Onega
This area is called the Onega skerries, a cluster of large and small islands with winding channels between them. During the boat cruise, only the museum's exposition in the central part of Kizhi Island, the majestic 22-head Transfiguration Church (1714), the 10-head Intercession Church (1764) and a number of wooden buildings of residential and residential buildings around them are visited: Karelian and Russian peasant estates, forges, mills, barns, baths.
The Transfiguration and Pokrovskaya churches were originally built on the island and represented the Kizhi parish. Most of the remaining buildings were transported disassembled to the territory of the museum-reserve from various villages of Zaonezhye and the whole of Karelia, after which they were re-installed and restored. Among them there is for example the chapel of the Resurrection of Lazar - the oldest known wooden buildings in Russia, it is more than 600 years old.
Transfiguration Church was erected in 1714 on the site of the old, burnt. Unfortunately, the real names of the creators of the present church are not known. The height of the Church of the Transfiguration is 37 meters and has an unprecedented number of domes - 22. The size of the domes in each tier of the church is different. Crowned by their large, three times more than the rest, the central chapter. The symmetrical structure of the domes gives the church the shape of a high pyramid, which looks the same from all sides. The Church of the Intercession of the Most Holy Theotokos was built in 1764. The Church of the Intercession has - 9 chapters, it is smaller and simpler than the Transfiguration, and was built according to the official church canon. It stands out for its grace, slim and elongated proportions, harmoniously complementing the main church. Its domes form an elegant openwork crown that adorns the temple, subtly and organically combining with the elegant plinth of the Transfiguration Church.
Currently, the Pokrovsky temple is active and serves not only as a museum object, but also for its intended purpose. The first church service after a long break was held in the early 1990s. In 2003 The church community was transformed into the Spaso-Kizhi Patriarchal Compound. Hip bell tower, standing between the churches organically joins the Kizhi ensemble. This is the latest building (1874). For almost 60 years, the Kizhi bell tower stood silently, since 1929, the bells were banned throughout the territory of the Soviet Union. They sounded again in 1989. Now, the bell tower of the Kizhi Pogost includes 12 bells (9 of them are old and 3 modern, newly cast). The bells are ringing in Kizhi with a "crimson" ringing, their ringing through the water is far away.
Church of the Resurrection of Lazarus from the Murom Monastery
The Church of the Resurrection of Lazarus comes from the Assumption Monastery, founded by St. Lazarus in the XIV century on the eastern shore of Lake Onega. The history of the foundation of the monastery and the life of St. Lazar of Murom were written by the elder Theodosius, who came to the monastery from Athos. The life, written by the elder from the words of Lazarus, is preserved in the lists of the XVII-XIX centuries.
According to legend, Lazarus, a Byzantine by birth, was sent by the Patriarch of Constantinople to Novgorod to the court of Archbishop Basil (1329-1352), where he served for nine years, until the death of the archbishop. After that, Archbishop Vasily appeared to Lazarus in a dream and Lazarus, "on a special miraculous appearance" of the monk, was sent to the Murom peninsula, where he founded a monastery.
In 1959, the Church of the Resurrection of Lazarus was transported to the island of Kizhi. Icons from the church and its case were received in three museums: the State Russian Museum, the Museum of Fine Arts of the Republic of Karelia, the Kizhi Museum-Reserve. The funds of the Kizhi Museum were decorated with Deesis icons, "Daniel the Stylite", "The Savior Not Made By Hands", the royal gates and the altar door "Prudent Pax". They are dated by researchers to different times: from the first half of the XVI century to the XVII century.
It would seem, why we need museums, when on the Internet today you can watch any thing or image. Why are there museums - even paper books are considered by some people to be a relic of the past! But this is a big mistake, for which we are already paying the price today with a sharp drop in the level of education. The fact is that our perception depends on many parameters. And we are better perceived, aware of objects and texts when we see them in front of us in reality, and not on the screen.
World vacation travel - History - Architecture - Monument - Heritage - Religion - Landscape - Museum - Culture - Ancient - Reserve - Russian - Orthodox - Europe tours - Island - Russia - God - North - Divinity - Wooden - Temple - Dome - Old - Chapel - Onezhskoe - Wood - Log - Church - Lake - Northern - Timbered - Onega - Onego - Timber - Cathedral - Antique - Cupola - Kizhi.
Adventure Africa Alps America Ancient Animals Antarctic Architecture Argentina Asia Australia Austria Beach Brazil Caribbean Caucasus China City Cruise Culture Diving Egypt Equator Europe Exotic Extreme Fishing Forest France Galapagos Greece Hawaii Heritage Hiking History India Indonesia Island Italy Japan Kenya Lake Landscape Maldives Mexico Monument Mountain Museum Nature Night Ocean Palace Park Relax Religion Reserve Resort River Russia Scandinavia Sea Siberia Spain Summer Switzerland Thailand Tropics Turkey Vietnam Volcano Water Waterfall Winter