Uspensky monastery - vacation travel photos. Goritsky Assumption Monastery
Goritsky Assumption Monastery In Pereslavl-Zalessky
The Assumption Monastery was founded in the first half of the 14th century, under Prince Vladimir of Ivan Danilovich Kalita (circled 1283-1340 or 1341)
They built a monastery on a hill which gave the name Goritsky. At first the buildings were made of wood. Of course, not one of them has reached our days - fires and wars in old times did not spare wooden architecture. The first ruin of the monastery was brought in 1382 by the Golden Horde Khan Tokhtamysh.
In the 16th century, stone structures were erected on the territory of the monastery. In the second half of the XVII century, it was surrounded by a stone wall with towers, Saints and Passage gates, as well as the gatekeeper's chamber. At that time, the monastery owned vast lands and five thousand serfs.
The walls of the Goritsky Assumption Monastery In Pereslavl-Zalessky were completed in the 18th century. They are rather low, since they did not perform a defensive function, in contrast to the monastery walls of an earlier period. Loopholes in them also have a rather decorative function. The same can be said about the towers of the north side of the walls of the monastery - they are all built and decorated with great art.
The main building of the Goritsky monastery is the Assumption Cathedral. In the form in which it exists now, it was built in the 1750s
The cathedral is crowned with five small elegant domes. Inside the temple is decorated with stucco, and the walls are decorated with rich Baroque paintings. A multi-tiered gilded iconostasis of 1759, preserved under the guidance of the master Yakov Zhukov, has been preserved. The iconostasis consists of 5 rows of icons, rising from the floor of the altar elevation to the very base of the main vault, and is richly decorated with baroque columns, figures of saints and floral ornaments.
The Church of All Saints with refectory chambers was built in the second half of the XVII century, and is located near the Assumption Cathedral. In the XVIII-XIX centuries the building was subjected to a significant reconstruction, which made it impossible for us to see the original appearance of the temple.
After the abolition of the Diocese of Pereslavl in 1788, the Goritsky Monastery was closed, and the Assumption Church became the central cathedral for a while. But then this status was transferred to a temple more convenient for the citizens. Undoubtedly, the complex of buildings of the Assumption Goritsky Monastery is of great interest and should be carefully preserved and restored.
World vacation travel - Medieval - Tower - Cathedral - Church - Chapel - Museum - Orthodox - Kremlin - Tourist - Travel - Monastery - Dome - Architecture - Gold - Style - Religion - Europe tours - Lake - Christ - Traditional - Christianity - Russian